AAP Extends Deadline for 2023 PROSE Awards
Entry Period Now Ends on
Wednesday, November 23, 2022
The Association of American Publishers today announced that it has extended the submission period for its prestigious 2023 PROSE Awards through Wednesday, November 23rd (the original deadline was Friday, November 18, 2022).

The PROSE Awards recognize outstanding scholarly books, nonfiction graphic novels, journals, reference works, and e-products in five official categories: Biological and Life Sciences, Humanities, Physical Sciences & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Reference Works.

“We have been delighted by the enthusiastic response to this year’s call for submissions, and we are happy to accommodate publisher requests to extend the submission period for the 2023 PROSE Awards until Wednesday, November 23rd,” said Chief Operating Officer Syreeta Swann. “As always, our PROSE Awards Judges look forward to reviewing all of this year’s submissions, and to discovering the very best works of the year.”

Entry Details for the 2023 PROSE Awards Process

The entry fee for the 2023 PROSE Awards is $105, with submissions received digitally. Publishers will be asked to submit two electronic review copies before payment. Submitters are asked to provide review copies as annotatable PDF files to facilitate notetaking by our judges. Judges may request hardcopies during review. Winners will be required to provide physical copies to AAP.

There are some updates to submission categories this year, including the separation of World and European History, and the combining of Chemistry, Physics, Astronomy and Cosmology into one submission category. In addition, we are excited to announce the broadening of the PROSE Mathematics category to include Statistics. Entries that examine advanced and high-level mathematics and statistics topics should be submitted to the Mathematics and Statistics category. Entries that interpret science and math for general audiences should be submitted to the Popular Science and Popular Mathematics category. Entries may include books, journals, nonfiction graphic novels, eProducts, and reference works.

Submitting publishers must be a member of either the Association of American Publishers (AAP) or the Association of University Presses (AUPresses).

Please see here for more about how to submit an entry for the 2023 PROSE Awards.

About the PROSE Awards

Since 1976, the AAP’s PROSE Awards have recognized publishers who produce books, journals, and digital products of extraordinary merit that make a significant contribution to a field of study.

For 2023, a panel of esteemed judges from throughout the academic community will review entries for overall excellence in scholarly publishing in the five subject categories. Winners from each subject category will go on to compete for the industry’s coveted R.R. Hawkins Award, the ultimate winner of the PROSE Awards competition. PROSE Award Finalists, Subject Category winners, Excellence Award winners, and the R.R. Hawkins Award winner will be announced by AAP in early 2023.

More information on the 2023 PROSE Awards can be found here.

Syreeta Swann
Vice President, Programs and Administration
Please click here to unsubscribe

Association of American Publishers, 1730 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20006, United States